The 2017 Immigrants of Distinction Awards

The 2017 Immigrants of Distinction Awards

The finalists in the 2017 Immigrant Services Calgary Immigrants of Distinction awards have been announced! This annual event, which celebrates the immeasurable talents and contributions made by Canadian newcomers, is being held on March 10, 2017 here in Calgary. This year’s ceremony will also mark two other notable events – the 40th Anniversary of Immigrant Services Calgary, and the 150th Anniversary of Confederation. The theme will be “Global Talent – Canada’s Advantage”, and will reflect the dedication and diversity of Calgary’s immigrant communities and the ways in which they’ve shaped the city.

This year’s nominees include:

  • Achievement Under 35: Dr. Anupam Das, Dr. Bhavini Gohel, Dr. Diana Nada
  • Arts and Culture: Elena Bushan, Sylvia Prochownik, Tien (Janey) Luc-German
  • Community Service: Dahlia ElShafie, Miguel Cortines, Miroslav Reljic
  • Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Dr. Anmol Kapoor, Naomi Pereira, Wilson Wong
  • Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Anil Mehrotra, Dr. Irene Estay, Dr. Richard Guy
  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Math: Dr. Laleh Behjat, Dr. Mohamed Elhabiby, Dr. Wael Badawy
  • Organizational Diversity: Evans, Genesis Centre, Syrian Refugees Support Group
  • Youth Scholarships: Ayush Ghosh, Janica Echavez, Jeremy Fan, Nicole Mfoafo-M’Carthy, Zeel Patel

If you would like to attend the event, tickets can be purchased here.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply